DSPRelated.com
Forums

What does filtering do to a signal in time domain? Does the signal gets distorted?

Started by amitjonak 4 years ago9 replieslatest reply 4 years ago234 views

Hello everyone!

When considering a transceiver system, if we do a certain filtering operation on the signal, will the BER of the system be affected? My point is, since filtering in frequency domain filters a portion of the spectrum, whereas in time domain it is basically a series of MAC operations depending on the number of filter taps. So, eventually my original signal after filtering should have a totally different waveform than the original. Now, if I want to get the original signal back in an ideal channel condition, do we have to do some sort of inverse filtering operations that compensate the operations done in the time domain? 

I will be grateful if you could help me in this regard. Thank you in advance!

[ - ]
Reply by Rick LyonsMarch 20, 2020

Hi amitjonak. I'm no expert on digital radio systems but I'll mention a few ideas here. In digital radio, a transmitter's filter that converts "symbols" (numbers) to an analog signal to be transmitted is called a "pulse shaping" filter. And at the receiver, the analog signal is applied to what I think is called a "receive filter." The receive filter's function is to minimize noise and interference corrupting the received analog signal in an attempt to recreate the transmitted analog signal.

The receive filter is NOT the inverse of the transmitter's pulse shaping filter. The receive filter and the pulse shaping filter are "matched filters." To learn more about all of this, you should search the Internet for "digital radio pulse shaping filters" and "intersymbol interference".