DSPRelated.com
Forums

Polyphase Filter Bank channelizer issue

Started by epetragl 3 years ago5 replieslatest reply 3 years ago892 views

Hello, I am currently studying the implementation of a Polyphase Filter Bank channelizer designed by Xilinx in its XAPP1161. The architecture is composed by a single IP FIR handling eight different channels and an FFT module (plus some FIFOs). During the simulation phase I realized that the FIR is configured ("Sample Period" option of the IP GUI) to accept a sample every 89 clock cycles, which shall correspond to the total number of taps (712) divided by the number of channels (8). 

Although I'm not very comfortable with the PFB channelizer theory, I can't understand why the FIR needs 89 cycles before to be ready to accept a new sample. Is there a special theoretical reason that explains this behavior or is this due to the internal architecture of the IP and how the latter manages the multiple channels?

From what I understand, if I use 8 separate FIRs I could provide each of them one sample every eight clock cycles, thus reaching 10 times the data throughput of the XAPP1161 implementation. Is this correct?

Thanks in advance for your help! 

[ - ]
Reply by sgrassiNovember 27, 2020

Hello, I have worked on a PFB (Polyphase Filter Bank) channelizer ~6 months ago. I read the XAPP1161 and used the accompanying matlab code, but not the FPGA implementation, because I only had to do matlab + C implementation. I also forgot a lot since I quit that job :-) So I hope my answer can help. 

"From what I understand, if I use 8 separate FIRs I could provide each of them one sample every eight clock cycles, thus reaching 10 times the data throughput of the XAPP1161 implementation. Is this correct?"