DSPRelated.com
Forums

Need to understand: How noise is folded into BW of interest after LP filtering+decimatiom

Started by niptoz 7 years ago11 replieslatest reply 7 years ago2545 views

Hello out there. I'm pretty new at DSP, but here comes a formulation of my problem

Can anyone explain how i would be able to figure out the SNR after performing low pass filtering and decimation? As i understand the noise of my original signal is folded into the band of interest. What i have done so far is calculated the power in the decimated signal that lies within my bandwidth. I compared it to the power outside this bandwidth, which i see as noise. This gives me a reasonable SNR, but i dont know if it is the correct approach. 

[ - ]
Reply by kazMarch 31, 2017
[ - ]
Reply by niptozMarch 31, 2017

Thank you very much, i will read the article through :) 

-Now i have read it. It doesn't solve my problem. I have already obtained the spectrum of my filtered and decimated signal, where nyquist is moved down. The original signal is a square wave with a BW of interest, amplitude 1.1, and noise of constant amplitude 0.1 on both sides. 

untitled_84502.png

[ - ]
Reply by Rick LyonsMarch 31, 2017

Hi. I suggest that you do not, if possible, use a squarewave as a test signal. Squarewaves are NOT bandlimited so any discrete signal representation of a squarewave will be by necessity imperfect. Perhaps you could use the sum of three or four closely-spaced sinusoids as a test signal. Such a test signal can be very accurately represented by discrete sequences.

[ - ]
Reply by Fred MarshallMarch 31, 2017
.. figure out the SNR after performing low pass filtering and decimation?

Start with the original signal, bandwidth (fs/2), and noise.

When you lowpass filter with the signal of interest within the passband then the noise outside the passband is largely removed and the noise that was inside the passband stays.  So, the SNR changes; generally as the square root of the bandwidth change.