DSPRelated.com
Forums

Pass band in digital up conversion of LTE signals

Started by LabPe43 8 years ago6 replieslatest reply 8 years ago570 views

Hi,

I am new to filters and DUC (digital up conversion). I was reading an article from xilinx regarding DUC.

It was using a passband of 9.015 MHz in its first stage of filters (Single rate filter) for a 20 MHz bandwidth with Fs = 30.72 MHz

In #LTE 20 MHz, the data carriers occupy 18 MHz so wonder why the pass band is chosen to be half of occupied bandwidth? 

Thanks,

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottJune 12, 2016

Much of the story is on Figure 5 on page 5.  The filter (and signal) that they're referring to is at baseband.  At baseband, signal bandwidths are measured from 0 to a positive frequency -- but when you upconvert from baseband, you upconvert both the positive and negative image of the signal.  Depending on your point of view, either the original bandwidth term was off by a factor of two (but try changing it now -- Hah!) or going up from baseband is a special case.

Going back to Figure 5, the occupied bandwidth as shown is from -10MHz to +10MHz, but nearly any sane engineering specification will call it out as 10MHz.  When you up-convert, suddenly the occupied bandwidth doubles, going from carrier-10MHz to carrier+10MHz.

[ - ]
Reply by oliviertJune 12, 2016

Hi LabPe43  (are you a cousin of C-3PO?),

The signal to filter is complex and uses the band [-9MHz; 9MHz].

The filter itself is real that's why we choose 9MHz of bandwidth, as a real filter will keep the overall band [-9;9] MHz.

This real filter is used on the real part and the imaginary part. At the end you will keep the complex signal within the band [-9;9]MHz.

Olivier

[ - ]
Reply by Rick LyonsJune 12, 2016

LabPe43,

How can we explain the signal processing described in a Xilinx article if you didn't give us a web link so we can read the article?

[ - ]
Reply by LabPe43June 12, 2016