DSPRelated.com
Forums

DQPSK - New t this, and want to learn...

Started by kimfmx 4 years ago18 replieslatest reply 4 years ago246 views

Hi,

Happy that i found this forum, it seems like a good gathering of knowledgeable people.

I also fall into the category of persons who recently discovered SDR. I have been a radio amateur since i was a kid, but havent been much active. but it always interested me what was going on on the digital world, but gathering data and actually analyzing it seemed too far out of reach...until the SDR came along. It have revived my interrest in radios and signalling, and i want to get into the stuff again. I have been reading and reading, and have come so far, but im missing something, that i hope someone will be able to help me with, so I can understand and write a program in C# for decoding of the signal.

So how far have i come?

I have sampled a nice DQPSK signal with a sample rate of 1.92Mhz.

I have made a set of raides cosine impulse responce coefficients, and used them in a FIR filter. the result is signal that seems free from noise, and plotting each sample in a constellation chart, i can see the it move around the plane, to different position, however there are no nice pattern so the movements. I was king of hoping i would be able to make out the decition "point" as the line should idea move through these points. the signal is kind of distorted, and i have a hard time figuring out where in the process i go wrong, it could be filter parameters, sample rates, or another factor I have not thought of.

Im not using any tools for this, as i can not afford MathLab or the like. Im writing and visualizing the signal in C# without helper libraries... I want to learn.

Later I will be able to post some pictures of the visual parts of the program, so the signals can be assessed.

The Raised Cosine function.

raisedcosine_60266.jpg

The After and before result of the signal.
afterandbeforesignal_95055.jpg