DSPRelated.com
Forums

SDR reception of legacy AM, FM waves

Started by DevBee 3 years ago6 replieslatest reply 3 years ago244 views

Hi,

I am a newbie to the SDR and technology.

I understand that SDR is fundamentally based on I/Q modulated waves where any discrete value  that can be transmitted corresponds to a symbol which is represented as amplitude and phase through I and Q signals.

How can a latest SDR receive legacy AM waves ? as the SDR uses I,Q components whereas legacy AM doesn't have any such component applicable? I presume SDRs are able to receive and demodulate existing legacy FM transmissions - please correct/add.

Thank you in advance,

[ - ]
Reply by DSP_BigManApril 19, 2021

I and Q are characteristics of the RF wave form.  You can reduce the sample rate by sampling I and Q each to separate channels.  AM is not a symbol in this context.  

There are 4 kinds of Amplitude Modulation.  

More complex schemes such as 16-QAM transmits four bits of data per symbol resulting in a bit rate of 4 times the sample rate.

[ - ]
Reply by fharrisApril 19, 2021

Hell0 DevBee

The SDR radio can demodulate any analog modulation format as well as digital modulation options>

If you have access to IEEE explore, look up paper Software Defined Radio....Part 22 in a series of tutorials on instrumentation and Measurements.

I you don't have access... drop me an e-mail fjharris@ucsd.edu and I'll send you a copy... it is too big to load as an attachment here.

fred  harris

[ - ]
Reply by DevBeeApril 19, 2021

Thank you very much Fred.

Please let me look at the paper. I could get it.

[ - ]
Reply by Y(J)SApril 19, 2021

I'll try to give the simplest possible answer.

Modulation means changing the parameters of a signal in order to carry information. For example, in audio AM one starts with a sinusoid and changes its amplitude according to the audio coming from a microphone (the frequency of the unmodulated sinusoid being much higher than the frequencies in the audio).