DSPRelated.com
Forums

Audio DSP Board

Started by ebudae 2 years ago14 replieslatest reply 2 years ago537 views

Hello! I am new to DSP and I want to have a board which will have my audio software effect. 

It will be something like a spectral compressor/limiter and I will experiment with it. I have see TI boards but I have no idea which is best for me. Is there any guide for beginners? Most likely I will use 100 fft calls/ second + some param eq or band gain, which I will make filters for.

Also I don't want to spend 1000 euro but I want to have room for good processing. I can make threads.

Is there any guide somewhere that I could read? Or help me? 

Thank you

[ - ]
Reply by ChuckMcMMay 20, 2022

I suggest separating "I am new" and "want a board" :-), let me explain.

It is hard to pick a board that will work without a good understanding of what you are asking of it. It is hard to understand what you are asking of it without an understanding of what it takes to do what you want do.

So first, might be to develop an understanding of what sort of DSP code you need to achieve your spectral compressor/limiter. You can do that by learning and writing software that could run on pretty much any personal computer (laptop, desktop, what ever) created in the last 10 years. You can even do this using a Raspberry Pi 4 which is generally very cost effective. 

Once you have written a system that does what you want on the computer, then you can start on the journey of finding a dedicated board that will implement your algorithms.

[ - ]
Reply by aa1wwMay 20, 2022

I have to agree with @ChuckMcM.  GNU Octave software can give you a powerful sandbox in which to play DSP.  Youtuber "DSPcorner" has an hour and a half video on Octave basics at:

and another video on how to filter a signal (time-domain approach) at: