DSPRelated.com
Forums

Calculating optimal loop point in audio sample

Started by smjedison 1 year ago10 replieslatest reply 1 year ago249 views

(Disclaimer, I'm self-taught and mostly a beginner when it comes to DSP)

Hi! I've recently been working on a problem to find the optimal loop point in an audio sample, specifically a pipe organ sample. The idea is to find two points in the audio that there will be a seamless jump, completely inaudible. 

My current approach is brute-force. I pick an arbitrary loop end point, create a vector with the audio right before and right after the loop, and then calculate the harmonic distortion of that vector. I then find the loop point that causes the smallest amount of distortion.

Unfortunately, it doesn't work, and I'm scratching my head a bit. If you listen to the generated loop, it's quite jarring. I'm trying to identify whether my scoring function is off, or whether I'm going the wrong direction completely.

Here's an excerpt from the code that calculated the score (python):

def calc_harmonics(x):
    return abs(rfft(x))
# where to find the loop point in
loop_search_slice = nontremmed[floor(attack_index):floor(release_index)]

# slice_width is how wide of a slice to take from the beginning and end of the loop
# align it to a power of 2 for FFT
slice_width = 2 ** ceil(log2(max((sample_rate / freq), 512)))

# ref_sample is the reference sample (for normalizing `test_loop`)
ref_sample = loop_search_slice[0:slice_width]
ref_sample_amps = resample_to(calc_harmonics(ref_sample), slice_width + 1)

# this is a curve that biases the lower frequencies, making them more punishing
harmonic_bias = (1 - (np.linspace(0.0, 1.0, slice_width + 1) ** 3)) * 2

lowest_score = math.inf
lowest_index = -1

for i in np.arange(len(loop_search_slice) * 0.6, len(loop_search_slice) - slice_width, 2):
    pos = floor(i)

# calculate score based on what provides the least harmonic distortion
    potential_end = loop_search_slice[(pos - slice_width):pos]