DSPRelated.com
Forums

Hello,

I am a Computer Science student utilizing Convolution Reverb in my master's thesis, and was wondering if the following assertions were correct.

Assuming the following example of a sound wave emanating from an amplifier while reflecting off of 4 different surfaces (wooden shelves, plaster ceiling, plastic dish washer and tile floor), before arriving at a microphone:

final question_5944.png

1. More or less of the sound wave will be absorbed upon reflection off a surface, depending on both the frequency of the sound wave (pre-reflection) and the material of the surface (rather than the surface material alone).

In other words, a 440 Hz (A4) sound wave may be absorbed / drop by 15%, after reflecting off a wooden surface.

Whereas a 392 Hz (G4) sound wave may be absorbed / drop by 24%, after reflecting off of the same wooden surface.

2. When a portion of a sound wave is absorbed upon reflection off a surface, the sound wave becomes a new sound wave / changes in pitch.

In other words, if a 440 Hz sound wave is absorbed by 15% after reflecting off of the first surface (a wooden shelve), the sound wave changes in pitch to 440 - (440 * 0.15) = 374 Hz.

Note: I understand that a 15% drop is an unrealistically large amount, but I'm merely using large numbers for demonstration purposes.

3. When a sound wave drops in frequency (due to being partially absorbed after reflecting off a surface), the sound wave increases in speed.

In other words, if a 440 Hz sound wave wavelength is 78.41 centimeters in length, a 374 Hz sound wave is longer in length, and thereby reaches its final destination more quickly.

That said, I might have this reversed, and it could really be that a longer sound wave takes longer to reach its final destination.

If all of these assertions are correct, would anyone happen to know the mathematical equation for convolution reverb?