DSPRelated.com
Forums

FDATool

Started by LabPe43 8 years ago9 replieslatest reply 8 years ago623 views

I am new to FDATool (#matlab) and would like to use it to generate an impulse response with complex coefficients.

I would like to low pass filter the signal after IFFT in #OFDM and the signal is complex. So am unsure how to filter a complex signal? 

Thanks,

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeMay 25, 2016

I have never used FDATool, it looks like it expects a single real signal for input.  If your output is complex, I assume that means it is a quadrature signal.  

Your output is I and Q.  Just treat them as separate "real" signals and sent each one through the same filter you design with the FDATool.  Use the tool to design a filter for one real input - and then use it twice.

Patience, persistence, truth,

Dr. mike

[ - ]
Reply by LabPe43May 25, 2016

Thanks Dr. Let me try.

[ - ]
Reply by Rick LyonsMay 25, 2016

To echo Dr. mike's good advice: if your FDAtool produces filter coefficients, h, whose performance is what you desire, then you should use the h coefficients filter the real part of your complex-valued input signal to produce the real part of your filter output signal. Likewise, using the same filter coefficients, filter the imaginary part of your complex-valued input signal to produce the imaginary part of your filter output signal.

But LabPE43, MATLAB's 'filter(h, 1, Input_Signal)' command will perform this dual-filtering operation automatically! The 'filter(h, 1, Input_Signal)' command examines it's "Input_Signal" input sequence and if "Input_Signal" is complex-valued the 'filter()' command filters the input's real and imaginary parts separately and produces a complex-valued output. What I'm saying is, MATLAB will perform your complex filtering with just a single command such as:

Output_Signal = filter(h, 1, Input_Signal)

and the desired "Output_Signal" sequence will be complex-valued.

[ - ]