DSPRelated.com
Forums

Is this a FIR algorithm? If not could someone explain this?

Started by jshowa 6 years ago5 replieslatest reply 6 years ago145 views
I'm kind of out of my element here trying to understand this algorithm and I wanted to see if this is a FIR algorithm or not? If this isn't the right place to ask this, can someone point me to a place?

The reason I ask is because this code is not well commented and not defined anywhere and I'm relatively new to this problem domain.

=====Code Start==========

' Called BY CAntennaT with ref to a one-dim array of single's

'

Public Function Filter3_Ant(data As Variant, ByVal CNo As Integer, ByVal times As Integer) As Integer

Dim i As Integer, k As Integer

Dim Anz As Integer

Dim I_1 As Variant      ' value at I-1

Dim I_0 As Variant      ' saved value at I-0

If times <= 0 Then Exit Function

' use filter3 only where it makes sense

If (Module.GetTestFlag(CNo) And (SIMPLE_GAIN + SDARS_STD)) = 0 Then Exit Function

Anz = VUbound(data)

If Anz < 3 Then Exit Function

Do

I_1 = data(1)  ' preset with I+2, then first becomes 0.5 * F(I) + 0.5 * F(I+1)

For i = 0 To Anz - 2

I_0 = data(i)

data(i) = I_1 * 0.25 + data(i) * 0.5 + data(i + 1) * 0.25

I_1 = I_0

Next

data(i) = I_1 * 0.5 + data(i) * 0.5

times = times - 1

Loop While times > 0

End Function

=======CODE END========

I asked this on another form and they suggested it was and that the impulse responses are 0.25, 0.5, and 0.25. However what confuses me is that it looks like a convolution sum but presented in a very odd way.

I would've assumed if it was computing the convolution sum, it would be taking each point in the input and multiply it by 0.25, 0.5, and 0.25 added together, ie.

For i = 0 To Anz - 2
data(i) = data(i) * 0.25 + data(i) * 0.5 + data(i) * 0.25
Next

But its like its doing portions of it and then applying it again over the same points....
[ - ]
Reply by Y(J)SAugust 16, 2018

From a quick look, it seems to be an in-place FIR.