DSPRelated.com
Forums

"System Identification" Ideas

Started by Fred Marshall 8 years ago12 replieslatest reply 8 years ago144 views

I'm working on a problem where there is a "system" (really an algorithm) that inputs a number of data values and outputs the position of a toggle switch.  So, based on one state (or short history of states) of the inputs, the switch will toggle to ON.  And, based on other states of the inputs, the switch will toggle to OFF.  The objective is to find the states of the inputs to cause the toggles in sync with historical performance.  We have a fair history of both the inputs and the corresponding outputs.  So, it sounds like a system identification problem.

For now, I have an algorithm that works on many cases perfectly.  But some cases generate more disagreements than are acceptable.

I'm looking for ideas that might get me thinking in new directions for this task. I'm not an expert in system ID and maybe this task isn't well-suited or is at least tough because of the decision-making and binary output.  But I figured I would ask.  I'm doing most of the work using Excel but also have Matlab available.

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottJuly 31, 2016

I would consider running away, screaming.  Or perhaps strolling off quietly while acting as casually as I can manage, so as not to attract any attention.

Seriously, it's a rough problem that you've chosen.  Most "system identification" problems assume a linear system, or perhaps a system that has tractable nonlinearities.  You've got a system with a relay nonlinearity in it, and that makes life hard.