DSPRelated.com
Forums

Finding "channel" impulse response from input and recorded data

Started by niptoz 5 years ago9 replieslatest reply 4 years ago229 views

Hello nice forum! 

Im facing the problem of estimating the impulse response of the following process: Known signal that is transmitted and recorded by a microphone (not the same length). I understand that this kind of problem falls into the category of inverse problems, since Im not that experienced in these problems, Im having a hard time trying to solve it. 

I have been trying to solve it by setting up the Wiener Hopf equations for the setting (deconvolution), by creating the autocorrelation matrix from the known input signal x(n) and the vector of autocorrelations from the recorded signal y(n). This seems to give a reasonable result after solving for the filter coefficients, but..

This approach seems to complex in computational time  ~1min, not feasible when it is desired to do for a lot of recorded signals! This is btw. done to figure out the time it takes for a signal to be picked up. The method consequently gives filter coefficients that are as long as the recorded data sequence. This should be do-able with a much smaller filter?

Any suggestion of methods that I can apply to do the deconvolution, in a nice and structured way? 

Thank you very much! 

[ - ]
Reply by achesirOctober 7, 2020

I assume that you are trying to build a model of the impulse response of the microphone output that results from the sound input.

If so, I recommend that you use the LMS (Least Mean Squares) algorithm to update the taps of an adaptive FIR filter.

First: Establish an FIR filter with at least as many taps as your safest guess of the delay between the known good signal and the microphone output, and then add a few more taps, to be safe.