DSPRelated.com
Forums

Convolution and Fast Fourier Transforms Efficiency Gains

Started by nelsona 5 years ago3 replieslatest reply 5 years ago248 views

Hello,

I had quite a few questions I was hoping someone could answer regarding the use of FFT's when convolving a digital signal:

1. When convolving some digital signal A by some impulse response B, do we get the same convolved digital signal, whether we use an FFT or not?

In other words, if we performed a binary comparison of the convovled digital signal produced when using an FFT to convolve A by B, would it match the convolved digital signal produced when convolving A by B without the use of an FFT?

2. Though I'm fairly new to FFT's, an FFT was described to me as a digital signal transformation which converts a digital signal into the frequencies that make it up. By doing this, it allows us to perform digital signal operations on the frequencies that make up a digital signal, opposed to each individual sample of a digital signal operation.

Assuming the digital signal is made up of fewer frequencies than samples, using an FFT to perform some DSP operation will be far more efficient than when not using an FFT.

Is my understanding of an FFT correct?

3. Regarding parallelization, once a digital signal has been converted into an FFT, is it safe to assume that some DSP operation performed on each frequency (for example, convolution) can be performed in parallel?

In other words, if a digital signal consisting of the C4 major chord was transformed into an FFT, consisting of the following 3 frequencies:

C4 @ 261.63 Hz
E4 @ 329.63 Hz
G4 @ 392.00 Hz

Is it safe to assume that if I wished to convolve the C major chord by my impulse response B, that I could split my computational workload among the following 3 threads:

Thread 1 convolves C4 by impulse response B
Thread 2 convolves E4 by impulse response B
Thread 3 convolves G4 by impulse response B