DSPRelated.com
Forums

Real Time Panoramic View Generation from rotating camera via DM642 EVM

Started by hassaniqbal 8 years ago2 replieslatest reply 8 years ago129 views

Hello,

I am new to Embedded Systems and DSPs. I have to design and implement real time image stitching algorithm to make 360 degree panoramic view on DM642 Evaluation Module (version 3). 

I have successfully run (and understood) an example code of DM642 EVM which acquires (FVID) frames from NTSC source and displays them on screen after converting captured frames to RGB format. 

I have some queries which need to be clarified: 

1. I want to work on 320 by 240 resolution to improve processing speed. However, I cannot configure capture and display channels to acquire this resolution frame, process it and display it. From what I get, I can only capture in NTSC720 or PAL720 modes and display in XGA, SVGA or VGA modes. Will I have to down-sample, process and then up-sample the acquired FVID_frame or there is any more efficient and easier option? 

2. To be able to do image stitching, i need to store previous frames? If yes, then how to store them efficiently? Do I need external memory or 4MB Flash and 32MB SDRAM is enough? 

3. Please refer any book, online course, article or post (I could not find one) which explains or can help me accomplish the project starting from basics.

Thanking in anticipation. 

Best Regards,

Hassan Iqbal

#DM642 #EVM #imageProcessing

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottAugust 8, 2016

I can't answer your questions, but I may be able to give you some more information.

1: NTSC video is 525 lines, of which around 480 are active (most TVs in the US don't show that many lines).  So if you're capturing complete frames, you're stuck with 480 lines.  You might be able to get into the guts of the acquisition algorithm and get 320 lines horizontally -- but maybe not, and getting good color resolution may be a challenge.