DSPRelated.com
Forums

Upper bound on the decimation factor M

Started by Dirichlet 8 years ago8 replieslatest reply 8 years ago180 views

Dear experts,  

Hi, I am a Chinese student at BeiHang Uni. I am now self-studying DSP. I had a difficulty understanding a restraint on the #Decimation factor M in #Multirate Narrowband Filter. 
11_34349.jpg

I don't understand why decimation factor must satisfy (8.5.2). I read an article which writes it's to achieve gain in computational efficiency(http://www.mds.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/multirate_article.pdfpage 9)  and I still had no clue. Could you give me a hint ? 

Thanks in advance.

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeAugust 18, 2016

Computational efficiency comes from two places - when you down sample you can skip over blocks of data so you only apply your filter every M samples and second from the number of taps you need to create the filter.  The bigger M is, the fewer computations per input samples you need to do.  But if $F_0$ is really small, the number of taps is large.  So I think there has to be a balance in there.  

If M is big, you only have to do a filter step once every M input samples, so it saves you computation effort.  The best thing to do is to create an example - build a simple filter and change a few parameters so you can see what the math really tells you. Send in a simple square wave and see what comes out of the filter.  Change the parameters, and compare what comes out.  It should not take long to understand the formulas after that!

Dr. mike

[ - ]
Reply by DirichletAugust 18, 2016

Thank you, Dr. mike!!!

[ - ]
Reply by Fred MarshallAugust 18, 2016

In the article at the link you provided, there is an expression: 

"To achieve gain in computational efficiency, the following must hold:B<Fs/4"