DSPRelated.com
Forums

Cycle counts on CCS Version 2.20.0 on board

Started by Saiju T Joseph May 28, 2003
hi,
I am working on TMS320C6416, and am using CCS version 2.20.0. I am
unable to get the cycle counts When I am running any application on the
board.
I have tried copying a project, which was giving cycle counts while
running in the simulator, and running it on board. The results are matching
but still unable to get the cycle count display.
Is there anyone working on 6416 boards? Looking forward for some expert
advice
sincerely,
joseph
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This e-mail may contain privileged and confidential information and is
intended only for
the use of the specific individual(s) to whom it is addressed. If you
are not an intended
recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby notified that any
unauthorized use, dissemination
or copying of this e-mail or the information contained in it or
attached to it is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please delete it and
immediately notify the undersigned
by reply e-mail.
Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
www.hellosoft.com

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++



Hi,
How are you trying to measure cycle counts ? Using clock ? Else try using
TIMER_getCount supported by the CSL.
Hope this helps.
Thanks and Regards,
Ganesh
----- Original Message -----
From: Saiju T Joseph
To:
Sent: Wednesday, May 28, 2003 2:44 PM
Subject: [c6x] Cycle counts on CCS Version 2.20.0 on board hi,
I am working on TMS320C6416, and am using CCS version 2.20.0. I am
unable to get the cycle counts When I am running any application on the
board.
I have tried copying a project, which was giving cycle counts while
running in the simulator, and running it on board. The results are matching
but still unable to get the cycle count display.
Is there anyone working on 6416 boards? Looking forward for some expert
advice
sincerely,
joseph
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This e-mail may contain privileged and confidential information and
is intended only for
the use of the specific individual(s) to whom it is addressed. If
you are not an intended
recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby notified that any
unauthorized use, dissemination
or copying of this e-mail or the information contained in it or
attached to it is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please delete it and
immediately notify the undersigned
by reply e-mail.
Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
www.hellosoft.com

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ _____________________________________
Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email client, only the author of
this message will receive your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if you want
your answer to be distributed to the entire group.

_____________________________________
About this discussion group:

To Join: Send an email to

To Post: Send an email to

To Leave: Send an email to

Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x

Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


Hi,

As Ganesh indicated, you need to use the Chip Support
Library for getting cycles counts on the hardware.
With the simulator, clock() calls give you an idea of
the cycle counts, they are not accurate in many cases.
If you have been using load6x, it assumes a "flat"
memory model and you are going to loose cycles
required for off-chip memory accesses, etc.

TIMER_getCount() gives an accurate count with a 1/8
resolution (1 count = 8 CPU cycles). You can take a
look at SPRU887, Sec 2.2, Page 5 to be more specific,
there is some sample code on how to use the CSL for
this purpose. I haven't used this with CCS2.20.0, but
it just works fine for me with CCS2.10.0 with the
C6416 hardware boards.

Cheers!

Indrajit

--- Saiju T Joseph <> wrote:
> hi,
> I am working on TMS320C6416, and am using CCS
> version 2.20.0. I am
> unable to get the cycle counts When I am running any
> application on the
> board.
> I have tried copying a project, which was giving
> cycle counts while
> running in the simulator, and running it on board.
> The results are matching
> but still unable to get the cycle count display.
> Is there anyone working on 6416 boards? Looking
> forward for some expert
> advice
> sincerely,
> joseph
> +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
> +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>
> This e-mail may contain privileged and
> confidential information and is intended only for
> the use of the specific individual(s) to
> whom it is addressed. If you are not an intended
> recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
> notified that any unauthorized use, dissemination
> or copying of this e-mail or the
> information contained in it or attached to it is
> strictly prohibited.
> If you have received this e-mail in error,
> please delete it and immediately notify the
> undersigned
> by reply e-mail.
> Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
>
> www.hellosoft.com
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>
>
> _____________________________________
> Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email
> client, only the author of this message will receive
> your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if you
> want your answer to be distributed to the entire
> group.
>
> _____________________________________
> About this discussion group:
>
> To Join: Send an email to > To Post: Send an email to
>
> To Leave: Send an email to > Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x
>
> Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com > ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


__________________________________


Hi,
As Indrajit has pointed out, it is always better to use CSL, but one shld
remember the resolution. I want to add something to the discussion.
If you feel that your program / code thats being profiled will take only a few
hundreds of cycles, I think it is better to go on with the clock() as it is more
accurate than the CSL supported Timer_getCount() because of the resolution of
the TIMER.
However if you are trying to profile a huge function, say an entire application,
I think you will be better off using the CSL function as this provides accurate
count on these matters.But you shld take care about the count differences in
case of repeated profiling, especially when the counter reaches the maximum
period and resets to zero. If this countered, you shldn't have any problems.
Thanks and Regards,
Ganesh

----- Original Message -----
From: Indrajit Chakrabarty
To:
Cc:
Sent: Thursday, May 29, 2003 6:35 AM
Subject: Re: [c6x] Cycle counts on CCS Version 2.20.0 on board Hi,

As Ganesh indicated, you need to use the Chip Support
Library for getting cycles counts on the hardware.
With the simulator, clock() calls give you an idea of
the cycle counts, they are not accurate in many cases.
If you have been using load6x, it assumes a "flat"
memory model and you are going to loose cycles
required for off-chip memory accesses, etc.

TIMER_getCount() gives an accurate count with a 1/8
resolution (1 count = 8 CPU cycles). You can take a
look at SPRU887, Sec 2.2, Page 5 to be more specific,
there is some sample code on how to use the CSL for
this purpose. I haven't used this with CCS2.20.0, but
it just works fine for me with CCS2.10.0 with the
C6416 hardware boards.

Cheers!

Indrajit

--- Saiju T Joseph <> wrote:
> hi,
> I am working on TMS320C6416, and am using CCS
> version 2.20.0. I am
> unable to get the cycle counts When I am running any
> application on the
> board.
> I have tried copying a project, which was giving
> cycle counts while
> running in the simulator, and running it on board.
> The results are matching
> but still unable to get the cycle count display.
> Is there anyone working on 6416 boards? Looking
> forward for some expert
> advice
> sincerely,
> joseph
> +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
> +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>
> This e-mail may contain privileged and
> confidential information and is intended only for
> the use of the specific individual(s) to
> whom it is addressed. If you are not an intended
> recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
> notified that any unauthorized use, dissemination
> or copying of this e-mail or the
> information contained in it or attached to it is
> strictly prohibited.
> If you have received this e-mail in error,
> please delete it and immediately notify the
> undersigned
> by reply e-mail.
> Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
>
> www.hellosoft.com

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>
>
> _____________________________________
> Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email
> client, only the author of this message will receive
> your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if you
> want your answer to be distributed to the entire
> group.
>
> _____________________________________
> About this discussion group:
>
> To Join: Send an email to > To Post: Send an email to
>
> To Leave: Send an email to > Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x
>
> Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com > ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/


__________________________________ _____________________________________
Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email client, only the author of
this message will receive your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if you want
your answer to be distributed to the entire group.

_____________________________________
About this discussion group:

To Join: Send an email to

To Post: Send an email to

To Leave: Send an email to

Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x

Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/



hi,
Thanks for the reply.
The application that i am working in right now is highly time critical. I
can't afford to add libraries to the code since it will blow up the code
size and in turn shall reflect in the cache misses. Instead I am looking for
the clock cycles in the view window using break points. Is it possible to
get the cycles without adding the said libraries?
regards
Saiju

----- Original Message -----
From: "Ganesh Vijayan" <>
To: <>; "Indrajit Chakrabarty" <>
Cc: <>
Sent: Friday, May 30, 2003 9:29 AM
Subject: Re: [c6x] Cycle counts on CCS Version 2.20.0 on board

> Hi,
> As Indrajit has pointed out, it is always better to use CSL, but one shld
remember the resolution. I want to add something to the discussion.
> If you feel that your program / code thats being profiled will take only a
few hundreds of cycles, I think it is better to go on with the clock() as it
is more accurate than the CSL supported Timer_getCount() because of the
resolution of the TIMER.
> However if you are trying to profile a huge function, say an entire
application, I think you will be better off using the CSL function as this
provides accurate count on these matters.But you shld take care about the
count differences in case of repeated profiling, especially when the counter
reaches the maximum period and resets to zero. If this countered, you
shldn't have any problems.
> Thanks and Regards,
> Ganesh
>
> ----- Original Message -----
> From: Indrajit Chakrabarty
> To:
> Cc:
> Sent: Thursday, May 29, 2003 6:35 AM
> Subject: Re: [c6x] Cycle counts on CCS Version 2.20.0 on board > Hi,
>
> As Ganesh indicated, you need to use the Chip Support
> Library for getting cycles counts on the hardware.
> With the simulator, clock() calls give you an idea of
> the cycle counts, they are not accurate in many cases.
> If you have been using load6x, it assumes a "flat"
> memory model and you are going to loose cycles
> required for off-chip memory accesses, etc.
>
> TIMER_getCount() gives an accurate count with a 1/8
> resolution (1 count = 8 CPU cycles). You can take a
> look at SPRU887, Sec 2.2, Page 5 to be more specific,
> there is some sample code on how to use the CSL for
> this purpose. I haven't used this with CCS2.20.0, but
> it just works fine for me with CCS2.10.0 with the
> C6416 hardware boards.
>
> Cheers!
>
> Indrajit >
>
> --- Saiju T Joseph <> wrote:
> > hi,
> > I am working on TMS320C6416, and am using CCS
> > version 2.20.0. I am
> > unable to get the cycle counts When I am running any
> > application on the
> > board.
> > I have tried copying a project, which was giving
> > cycle counts while
> > running in the simulator, and running it on board.
> > The results are matching
> > but still unable to get the cycle count display.
> > Is there anyone working on 6416 boards? Looking
> > forward for some expert
> > advice
> > sincerely,
> > joseph
> > +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
> > +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> >
> > This e-mail may contain privileged and
> > confidential information and is intended only for
> > the use of the specific individual(s) to
> > whom it is addressed. If you are not an intended
> > recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby
> > notified that any unauthorized use, dissemination
> > or copying of this e-mail or the
> > information contained in it or attached to it is
> > strictly prohibited.
> > If you have received this e-mail in error,
> > please delete it and immediately notify the
> > undersigned
> > by reply e-mail.
> > Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
> >
> > www.hellosoft.com
> >
> >
>
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
+++
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > _____________________________________
> > Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email
> > client, only the author of this message will receive
> > your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if you
> > want your answer to be distributed to the entire
> > group.
> >
> > _____________________________________
> > About this discussion group:
> >
> > To Join: Send an email to
> >
> >
> > To Post: Send an email to
> >
> > To Leave: Send an email to
> >
> >
> > Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x
> >
> > Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com
> >
> >
> > ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
> >
> > __________________________________ > _____________________________________
> Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email client, only the author
of this message will receive your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if
you want your answer to be distributed to the entire group.
>
> _____________________________________
> About this discussion group:
>
> To Join: Send an email to
>
> To Post: Send an email to
>
> To Leave: Send an email to
>
> Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x
>
> Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com > ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
> _____________________________________
> Note: If you do a simple "reply" with your email client, only the author o
f this message will receive your answer. You need to do a "reply all" if
you want your answer to be distributed to the entire group.
>
> _____________________________________
> About this discussion group:
>
> To Join: Send an email to
>
> To Post: Send an email to
>
> To Leave: Send an email to
>
> Archives: http://www.yahoogroups.com/group/c6x
>
> Other Groups: http://www.dsprelated.com > ">http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/ >
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Disclaimer
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This e-mail may contain privileged and confidential information and is
intended only for
the use of the specific individual(s) to whom it is addressed. If you
are not an intended
recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby notified that any
unauthorized use, dissemination
or copying of this e-mail or the information contained in it or
attached to it is strictly prohibited.
If you have received this e-mail in error, please delete it and
immediately notify the undersigned
by reply e-mail.
Hellosoft India Pvt. Ltd.
www.hellosoft.com

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++