DSPRelated.com
Forums

MSc Digital Audio Engineering Project Idea

Started by tappedtima 4 years ago12 replieslatest reply 4 years ago233 views

Hi there guys, I've joined this site to further help me and keep me in the loop with digital audio related topics. I am currently an MSc student and I need to write a research paper. I did Mathematics as my BSc and so I am inclined to do a lot of maths in my research rather than coding. I am interested really in Artificial Reverberation. The area however is so saturated that it is hard to pick what specifically to work on. As Audio Engineers, could anyone tell me what they would be interested to see further explored in Artificial Reverberation? Any suggestions would be of so much help. Thank you kindly! 

#Convolution #Reverb

[ - ]
Reply by therationalpiJanuary 16, 2020

That's a really broad question, but here are a few things that jump to mind.

1. How can you make a stable IIR filter that approximates the sound of a given FIR "convolution reverb?" Specifically, look at something like the Jot reverb, and find a mathematical mapping from an FIR filter to a set of coefficients for that structure.

2. For reverb in a 3D modeled space, how can you use the functions of Graphics Processors (GPUs) to accelerate the generation of a reverb filter? (VR gaming is making this very important) New Nvidia GPUs are designed with audio modeling in mind.

[ - ]
Reply by tappedtimaJanuary 16, 2020

These are great suggestions. First one sounds like a lot of linear algebra so I think I would enjoy that too. Thank you so much!

[ - ]
Reply by rbjJanuary 16, 2020

Okay, do you know what "Convolutional Reverb" is?  What "Fast Convolution" is?

Do you know what the Schroeder Reverb model is or the Jot Reverb model?  There might be some other more proprietary digital reverbs (like Alesis or Lexicon or some plugins) to look at.