DSPRelated.com
Forums

Simplifications With Eulers Equation (DTFT, DTFS)

Started by transient 4 years ago14 replieslatest reply 4 years ago459 views

Hello,

I am new to DSP and am taking a DSP class in university right now. One item that I am having trouble understanding (and my textbook doesn't seem to be addressing) is how to simplify complex exponentials. I am aware of Euler's equation, however I think I am missing some tricks in how to solve these. Does anyone have a reference table that has a list of common simplifications using Eulers equation (or any DSP reference tables for that matter)?

Below are some specific instances that I don't quite understand:

ex1_67766.png

My question for the above is, how do we get the 4 cos(pi k /3) term and the 2 cos(2 pi k /3) term?

I understand that there is a relationship between cos(x) = .5*( e^i x + e^-x) but that doesn't seem to apply in the above? Unless if the 2 e^(-i 10 pi k /6 ) term is  equal to a 2 e^(+i 2 pi k/6) term (if so, then why?)

Another question pertains to the below image:

I understand how to setup this equation (for calculating DTFS coefficients). It is not clear to me how the book is able to get this result from the series. My guess is that because the sine term is delayed by (n-2) that somehow we can pull a complex exponential out of this equation. If so how can we do that?

Another question (sorry, I know I'm full of them today :p )

ex2_39520.png

I understand that H(w) = Y(w)/X(w), however how do we go from 1+e^(-j 10w) to 2 cos(5 w) * e^(-j 5w)

I cannot find any look up tables or references that show how to do this (if you have some please share).

Similar, how do we do the following:

ex3_94517.png

How can we pull the sin term out of the above complex exp. Whenever I calculate this I get

.5 - .5 * cos(2 w) + .5 * i * sin(2 w)

Any help or guidance on how to approach the above problems would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much :)

[ - ]
Reply by josefseppFebruary 13, 2020

Hi there,