DSPRelated.com
Forums

How to test my FFT implementation?

Started by bittersweet 3 years ago9 replieslatest reply 3 years ago1949 views

Currently what I do is generate random floating point values, feed it to my implementation and fftw simultaneously and check if any bin has deviation beyond a threshold (threshold = 0.005). The tolerance is there to compensate for floating point math inaccuracies. With this setup, my tests seem to pass. Is this enough though? I am new to dsp and I don't know how dsp code is tested. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Here's the repository if someone wants to see some actual code: https://github.com/devsh0/fft-playground/blob/mast...

I apologize for not making everything clear in the question. My implementation is a radix-2 real only dit-fft. I expect N, the input
size, to be a power of 2. Furthermore, I am taking FFTs of length
ranging between 2^2 to 2^16,  each sample array containing randomly
generated double precision floating point values. I have observed that
input sizes up to 2^17 don't cause errors greater in magnitude than .005 when compared to fftw's output for the same input sequence. I will run more tests suggested here on my implementation of the FFT. Thank you all for your submissions.

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeMarch 8, 2021

Instead of random, use sine wave data.  Combine 2 different frequencies 90 degrees offset from each other and centered on your bins - you should get one real and one imaginary full max result with all other bins zero.  Then shift the frequencies to be at the edge of a bin.  You should get 2 bins next to each other with little bleed on other neighbors.

Comparing to fftw is valid - but comparing to theory is good too.  If your results don't give what you expect you can learn something.

[ - ]
Reply by SlartibartfastMarch 8, 2021