DSPRelated.com
Forums

Some ideas I had

Started by DHMarinov 7 years ago7 replieslatest reply 7 years ago218 views

Hi there,

I am a recent graduate from Aarhus University in Denmark. I have been doing DSP for a while now (~3 years), and as I encounter more and more problems I am starting to get some ideas, which are not described anywhere. Therefore I decided to write some of them down and present them in front the DSP community. 

I have included two ideas: a lo-fi filter which can be made only of statements, and an envelope/peak detector alternative, which is also based on if statements.

I have tried to express my ideas as easily as possible, therefore do not expect any fancy words :D. Also English is not my mother tongue, therefore I apologize for any mistakes.

Finally I would appreciate  your feedback. You can download the description from my GitHub : https://github.com/DHMarinov/MATLAB/blob/master/Description.docx .

Thank you.

[ - ]
Reply by Tim WescottNovember 18, 2016

You have the misfortune of being born too late.  Silicon has gotten cheap enough that such heroic measures are rarely needed, unless you actually need the characteristics you're driving at.

Low pass:

Been done.  You're basically seeking the median of the data rather than the mean -- these numbers are the same for some data sets, different for others.  Note that you have _not_ exactly designed a median filter -- that's a different critter.

And, you _are_ carrying a state: your 'cap' variable.

On most processors, overall, you're not gaining much -- silicon is getting ridiculously cheap these days, and "if then increment" doesn't take much less real estate on an ASIC than "arithmetic shift then add a couple of times".  You're also losing linearity, which means that -- from a linear systems point of view -- the filters apparent characteristics will change dramatically with the input amplitude.