DSPRelated.com
Forums

Power Spectral Density PSD° of OFDM signals

Started by Ayicha 1 year ago11 replieslatest reply 1 year ago458 views

Hello guys,

I'm quite new in OFDM techniques and i would really appreciate if someone could help me. Here is my problem. Assume i have a binary stream converted into complex values X(k) via the QPSK constellation. With those complex values, i want to generate an OFDM signal using the IFFT formulation; I also want to control the amplitude of the signal according to the DSP using the paramater A(k), k being the subcarrier. For n being the time sample, N the number of samples/subcarriers, I generate the OFDM signal as follows:

x(n) = (1/ N) * sum(A(k) * X(k).* exp(1j * 2 * pi * k * n / N).

If the DSP at a given subcarrier is greater than a certain threshold, I apply the parameter A(k) to reduce it.

My problem is I'm not sure how to determine the DSP at each subcarrier. I'm currently using this expression :

DSP(k) = 1/N * ||X(k)||^2.

But for me it seems like the DSP would be the same regardless the operating frequency band. The only thing that may cause a difference is the constellation used to detremine the X(k) : BPSK, QPSK, 16-QAM, ... What do you think about it? Am I rigth to calculate the DSP using this expression. Is there another expression that can be sused?

Thank you so much for your help!

[ - ]
Reply by SlartibartfastNovember 17, 2022

I think you're typing DSP when you mean psd, but that's okay.  ;)

Regardless, you can set the amplitude of each subcarrier however you want, to make them all the same or vary them to compensate for channel conditions.   Taking the magnitude as you are suggesting is certainly a reasonable way to do it.

[ - ]
Reply by AyichaNovember 17, 2022

Thank you so much!

Yeah i actually meant PSD not DSP which is the french word :)