DSPRelated.com
Forums

arm_fir_decimate cycles

Started by ErcSic71 6 months ago9 replieslatest reply 6 months ago214 views

Hi All,

I need to convert a (fixed point) stereo 16bit/32kHz stream into stereo 16bit/16kHz (on a Cortex M4). For this I have successfully used the CMSIS-DSP function arm_fir_decimate_q15(). However, with a 115 tap FIR filter, the call takes ~3.68ms to execute which is way too long for my application to tolerate. So I try the same with a 2 tap filter instead (which, surprisingly, does the trick as well) and now the call takes ~300us.  A questions though; What is taking so much time ? A plain arm_copy_q15(), on the same block size, takes ~17us and you would think that with an almost "non existent" FIR filter the arm_fir_decimate_q15() function would only be tasked with throwing away every other sample. But then, I'm not very experienced in signal processing ...

Can someone explain what is going on ?

Is there a faster method to accoplish the same goal ?

Thanks in advance !

\Eric

[ - ]
Reply by kazOctober 27, 2023

For 32KHz to 16KHz, if there is no significant power beyond 8KHz then direct decimation will do.

[ - ]
Reply by ErcSic71October 27, 2023

Hi kaz,

To elaborate a bit: I have a MEMS microphone connected to an nRF52. To get the wanted 16kHz sample rate I need to set the PDM clock to 1MHz. Now, most PDM microphones have a "low power" mode when clocked below ~700kHz and a "normal power" mode when clocked with >1.1MHz. So 1MHz is "illegal" but it seems my microphone is operating in "low power" mode because the sensitivity is higher(!) than the listed one for "normal power" mode. I need the lower sensitivity.

So, due to the design of the PDM pheripheral, clocking at 2MHz (to get the correct sensitivity) yields a 32kHz samplerate. Since the rest of my system expects a 16kHz stream (a proprietary radioprotocol etc) I need to bring the samplerate down to 16Khz.