DSPRelated.com
Forums

A basic DSP question

Started by tomb18 3 months ago7 replieslatest reply 3 months ago266 views

I am writing software to collect data from several different Software defined radios.  Typically they provide a packet of data that contains Real and Imaginary samples (IQ).  Some of them provide data in packets of 16384 data points and some in 8192 and some 4096.

Now typically I perform an FFT of order 14 (16384) on the packets of 16384 in size. For the other size packets, what would be the best solution for the FFT?  Should I collect enough packets(or data) until I get to 16384 samples or would it be better to pad the packets with 0 out to 16384 samples?

As I said, a very basic question, I'm still learning.

Thanks, Tom

[ - ]
Reply by SlartibartfastFebruary 7, 2024

If the packets are contiguous samples, i.e., there's no time gap between the last sample of a packet and the first sample of the next, then you can combine them until you have sufficient samples for whatever FFT size you want.   I think the main barrier to not being able to do that would be if the packets aren't contiguous for some reason.

[ - ]
Reply by LSheffieldFebruary 7, 2024

I like where you're going with 'contiguous', and let's say a deep ring buffer can fill from one end and empty from the other. For analysis, I get the greatest benefit from a start, window, slide processing architecture.

The window is the amount windowed and transformed, and the slide is allowed to be shorter than the FFT, giving you a Short-Time Fourier Transform (STFT) in the time-frequency sense.

[ - ]
Reply by DirkBellFebruary 7, 2024

As Robert Wolfe said it seems application dependent.

I am assuming you are applying a window before your FFT.

You might also consider using overlapping windows. Ex. 50% overlap for Hamming, Hanning(Hann), .... This would be dependent on the samples being contiguous as mentioned by Slartibartfast.

[ - ]
Reply by Robert WolfeFebruary 7, 2024