DSPRelated.com
Forums

Frequency resolution

Started by sorh 7 years ago11 replieslatest reply 7 years ago719 views

Hi guys, thanks for this website, its very useful and interesting

I'm a student and still struggling to understand many of this complexities about frequency resolution and dsp and I still haven't got a clear picture of all the factors that come into play when I'm trying to achieve the best freq. resolution within a window type, specially when there are two closed spaced signals.

What is really important in this case? The spacing between them/ 6dB limit? the window size? their amplitudes? thanks.

[ - ]
Reply by Fred MarshallMarch 25, 2017

The biggest thing and the easiest to remember (for me at least) is the time span.  The resolution is the reciprocal of the time span.  So, that means: "the window size" most of the time.

If the time span is fixed then increasing N won't help as this simply increases the sample rate but not the time span.  If the FFT is interpolated, this won't help much either because, while it increases the apparent time span, it does it by repeating the same samples in time.  Example:  Take a time series and compute the FFT.  Then double the time series by repeating it and compute the FFT.  The result is an FFT with half the frequency interval between samples but with no greater spectral resolution really.  It just looks like it.

[ - ]
Reply by Fred MarshallMarch 25, 2017

Even when you say "the best frequency resolution", the answer isn't much different than the time span or the window length.  I'd say, for practical purposes, not at all.  Consider a bandpass filter:  The sharpest edges are determined by the time span or window length.  That's a fundamental limit.  (There's a thing called "supergaining" but not generally encountered in DSP and somewhat messy.)