DSPRelated.com
Forums

coherence bandwidth and carrier frequency

Started by weilun731 7 years ago4 replieslatest reply 7 years ago380 views

Hi,

I studied some materials regarding coherence bandwidth of the channel. These materials all mentioned that when the signal's bandwidth (baseband) is less than the coherence bandwidth of the channel it will not get distorted, but there is no mentioning of the effect of carrier frequency. 

I am wondering if my thinking is true:

Even if the bandwidth of the signal is less than the coherence bandwidth of the channel, if we shift the center frequency of the signal to a carrier frequency that is outside of the coherence bandwidth of the channel, the signal will still get distorted. 

Yes or No?

Thanks,

William

[ - ]
Reply by Fred MarshallApril 7, 2017

Startibartfast gave you a good answer. 

I would only add:

Envision that the coherence bandwidth is a *measure* and not a *band*.  Then, if you shift the center frequency of the signal to a new carrier frequency, that won't move it "outside" because there is no band to move *outside of*.  The measure will still exist.

Just saying it a slightly different way....

[ - ]
Reply by hpatdsprelatedApril 7, 2017

You should look at the RF spectrum and the RF bandwidth of your signal. If frequencies differ for much more than the coherence bandwidth then their transmission characteristics (channel model) become independent. For differences lower then the coherent bandwidth the dependency rises and you get a roughly flat fading depending on the channel model as Staribartfast already described. 

If you move the center frequency of your signal by the amount of the coherence bandwidth then a part of the spectrum can still be described by your channel model and may suffer from fading. The fequencies shifted outside the coherence bandwidth are subjected to another channel model.