DSPRelated.com
Forums

Is it possible to use dsp to tune an active analog filter

Started by carneyc 6 years ago5 replieslatest reply 6 years ago126 views

Hello everyone,

Im pretty new to RF and have actuallly just begun working as an engineer. I have been looking around the internet for a while now and have been trying to figure out if there is a way to calibrate analog filters quickly using dsp? If there is I would seriously appreciate any advice on where and how to start off developing a method for calibrating a 4x4 array of bandpass filters. Thank you for any information you are able to offer!

[ - ]
Reply by neiroberJune 19, 2018

Carneyc,

Can you provide more detail about what you mean by "a 4x4 array of bandpass filters"?  Also, how are the filters now tuned/calibrated?  Do they have variable inductors or variable capacitors or varactor diodes or...?

regards,

Neil

[ - ]
Reply by dszaboJune 19, 2018

Analog Devices has some digitally controlled filters for RF applications if you haven’t looked there yet. I imagine other manufacturers have similar offerings as well, but I’m not super into the whole RF thing.  Seems like a good place to start.

[ - ]
Reply by carneycJune 19, 2018

The filters are designed by my company so sadly that isnt an option but I'll keep it in mind for reference if I figure out a way to do what I want! :)

[ - ]
Reply by carneycJune 19, 2018

Neil,

Thank you so much for replying!