DSPRelated.com
Forums

choose the antialiasing filter

Started by gabrics 5 years ago8 replieslatest reply 5 years ago259 views
Hi, i'm new to signal processing. I probably have not understood properly the following topic: i'm trying to use the XADC analog to digital converter on my FPGA. It's a switched capacitor ADC manufactured from XILINX with 1 MSPS and 12 bit resolution.I'm dealing with sampling of very noisy signals so i started to think about the spec of the antialiasing filter. The guide provided by XILINX says that there's a settling time that has to be met (500 ns) and gives an example of designing a single pole filter to meet the time constrains of the ADC. I do not have a specific bandwidth for the signal to be sampled but i want to use as much as i can related to my application. I hope to obtain a good resolution of at least 10 bit.

My requirements are (i think) : a low pass filter with a corner frequency of something around 100KHz and a 500 Khz(half of Nyquist) gain of at least -40 DB. In every datasheet that i read i cannot find the settling time information to understand if it's good for my application. Can someone help me to understand where to find that value? Thank you everyone.

https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-document...

https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-document...

[ - ]
Reply by Joe_WestNovember 27, 2018

You state that you want 40db of attenuation at half the sampling rate. That is one part in 100 of voltage. Yet you also state that you want 10-bits of resolution. That is about one part in 1000, so there's a factor of 10 missing somewhere. I suspect you really need 60db of attenuation for frequencies higher than sample-rate/2 

How much signal bandwidth do you really need to capture? That would establish the lowest pass-band frequency of your LPF, and combined with your aliasing requirements would thereby determine how many poles of (analog) LPF you need as well as the settling time of the LPF.