DSPRelated.com
Forums

CIC implement question?

Started by HerbertLu 1 year ago11 replieslatest reply 4 weeks ago276 views

Hi Sir,

I want to use sigma-delta modulator and FPGA to implement digital power control, and I am studying the Understanding Digital Signal Processing CH13.24, and I have a question as below figure,

cic_16897.png

According to the Eq. 13-120 and Eq. 13-121, my question is:

In the Figure 13-67,

Stage 2, (1+Z-1)M is not correct, (1+Z-2)M is correct, and

Stage K,(1+Z-1)-M is not correct, (1+Z-2K)M is correct.

Am I correct?

[ - ]
Reply by fharrisMay 15, 2023

Hello herbertLu,

the advice I give to folks using the CIC filter is to not use the CIC filter. The integrators in the CIC are large and operate at the highest input frequency. A standard polyphase low-pass filter will perform the same filtering task with less energy and without the need to correct for the sin(x)/x spectral tilt. See attached. I presented it at a conference with emphasis on CIC filter applications. My position was that it is not a good idea. I won over a number of reluctant converts!

fred h

Cascade Polyphase and CIC.pdf

[ - ]
Reply by DanBoschenMay 15, 2023

Very nice fred!!! I laughed out loud at all the intro slides. Yes CIC very bad with floating point. I believe with fixed point we can overflow once with no consequence within the range of the subsequent subtraction (as long as we wrap on overflow due to the modulo math it's no consequence). For me, the "multiplier-free" was always a good seller for the CIC along with what for many cases becomes a trivial 3 tap FIR for inverse Sinc compensation (which can also be done to some limits with no multipliers).