DSPRelated.com
Forums

Floating Point to Fixed Point Conversion

Started by nehavedam 7 years ago13 replieslatest reply 6 years ago1292 views

Hi!

I am working on converting a floating point MATLAB code into fixed point C code. The code is to be run on a DSP platform, the specifics of which are yet to be decided. 

I'm new to floating point to fixed point conversion and am facing quite a few challenges.

My questions are:

1. What is the best way for me to start and where should I start, because the topic is quite confusing.

2. My MATLAB code is basic filtering code; there's FFT, windowing followed by IFFT. Windowing seems simple enough as its multiplication, but I'm totally lost when it comes to FFT and IFFT.

Thanks!

[ - ]
Reply by BEBSynthesizersNovember 1, 2017

Hi,

passing from floating point to fixed is no more, no less than scaling numbers.

But in all cases, the VERY FIRST question when you come to fixed point is : what is the resolution and format you can/you want to use?

Resolution is number of bits, format is position of the 2^-1 bit in the word. Resolution gives the range, format gives you the accuracy you can achieve in fractional numbers.

Once you have done that, you will know what is the range of the values, and what SNR you can achieve. You can also turn it in the other way : take the SNR and range prerequisites, then define the resolution and format matching your needs.

Once you have done that, you will know the scaling you have to apply to all your numbers. If you use a general purpose processor, take care to implement the shift after each multiplication (in most cases, fixed point DSPs do this shift automatically)

You can also take a look to FFT source code from Analog Devices for their ADSP-218x DSP family, which are implementing FFT very efficiently in fixed point format, it's very helpful most of the time

Benoit

[ - ]
Reply by nehavedamNovember 1, 2017

Hi,