DSPRelated.com
Forums

Will a DSP be effective when 1 input into the DSP will eventually be outputed to 20 speakers in mono?

Started by kam_lime 6 years ago22 replieslatest reply 6 years ago233 views

The way my system works is that my receiver sends one (analog) input into my amp, then my amp will send that input to 20 channels (for 20 speakers). I would want to put a DSP between my receiver and amp, so that the dsp will have 1 input and 1 output, but that output will be eventually sent to 20 in-ceiling speakers in a very large ballroom, all playing in mono. 

However, will any dsp be effective in this situation? From the point of view of the dsp, the 20 speakers are really one giant speaker. But in reality they are 20 speakers. I'm not sure how this affects performance of a dsp (I'm a newbie). 

[ - ]
Reply by jbrowerMay 30, 2018

Kam-

Many years ago I used to help guys with sound systems in concert halls, churches, etc.

One thing always of concern:  equalizing sound arrival at certain points in the audience (typically a line down the middle of the seating, if that's possible).  To do this, output to different speakers may need slightly different delays (depending on shape of your ballroom and where you can place speakers), and to do that you need a sampling rate high enough to support your desired delay granularity.

So I think you might want N outputs, not sure if 20, but more than 1.

As other answers have indicated, at some point you may want other processing in addition to delay.  That's where flexibility of a DSP becomes helpful -- add what you need when you need it, fix what's not working, just by reprogramming.

-Jeff

[ - ]
Reply by kam_limeMay 30, 2018

Hi Jeff,

Unfortunately, I won't be able to have more than 1 output.