DSPRelated.com
Forums

DC Blocking unexpected results

Started by tonycolo 6 years ago17 replieslatest reply 6 years ago631 views

Hello,

I am new to DSP processing and am using an implementation of the Yates and Lyons DC blocking algorithm, drawn from the GNU Radio DC Blocker plugin in order to remove the DC component of a complex IQ stream from an SDR.    When I plot the FFT results, I see extremely negative values around the zero bin instead of a "flat slope" that the use of the plugin in GRC and other DC blockers produce.   Below is the processing order I use.  I have tried changing when I apply the DC blocker, but that doesn't make any difference.  I suspect there is some simple error in my processing, but I have spent an inordinate amount of time troubleshooting and cannot understand how the extreme negative values around the zeroeth bin/center frequency occur.

1.  Apply dc blocker to raw I+Q
2.  Apply a windowing function
3.  DFT/FFT process
4.  For each bin, calculate an average amplitude over N blocks of samples
5.  Display 20*log10(avg_amplitude) values in frequency domain

I have attached graphs for when I apply and the blocker and when I don't.   Varying the bins / size of the sample stream doesn't significantly change.  I have also tried changing the input parameters to the blocker (long form vs short form, D values from 4-64) without obtaining the desired result.  The graphs show 2048 FFT bins ad the use of an HFT70 window and 72.2% overlap.  I see the trough/large negative spectral response behavior without any windowing.

Thank you for any advice.

no-dc-blocker_3550.png

dc-blocker-applied_71852.png

Tony

[ - ]
Reply by Rick LyonsAugust 25, 2018

Hello Tony.

I developed the "moving average" DC blocking filter based on real-valued (binary two's complement) input signals. But off the top of my head I see no reason why the filter shouldn't work properly with quadrature (I/Q) input signals.