DSPRelated.com
Forums

How to set filter specification for Decimation process

Started by gabrics 6 years ago10 replieslatest reply 6 years ago296 views

Hi, i'm new to DSP so i'd like to understand something about decimation. This is what i have : a sinusoidal signal,about 200MHz sampled with a 500 MSPS ADC then demodulated and filtered(lock-in).The signal is completely buried in the noise. The problem is the filtering process because the sampling rate of the system is 500 MHZ(clock). I need to select a bandwidth of about 10 KHz so the only way to do this is implementing a multirate filter. Problably i misundersand something about decimation but i'm not sure about the design of the antialiasing filter before the decimation. From the frequency domain the spectrum spread every decimation process but in this case,that the aliasing is unavoidable due to noise, i don't understand the optimal number of cascaded filter that i have to put in the design. I'm using simulink and these are the two options that i can choose: 

1) fir decimate block

2) manualy put a filter and a decimator

In both case i use Fsample= 500MHz 

case 1) automaticaly generate the magnitude response by knowing the sampling frequency and the decimation factor, this is what a get:

2018-09-16 13_14_04-filter visualization

In this case the passband region is very flat and the -3db point is at 50MHz but it requires a lot of multipliers due to(i think) the flatness in the passband region.

case 2) do i need that flatness? As i sayd early, the aliasing is unavoidable in my case and the information is demodulated near 0Hz. So that's the question: can i design a filter like this? less multiplier are required and a -3db point of around 10 MHz  allow to downsample to 50 instead of 5

2018-09-16 13_50_03-block parameters_ dc

I'd like to thank with everyone that will help.

[ - ]
Reply by kazSeptember 16, 2018

The rule of decimation (assuming Fs_in, Fs_out) is that: