DSPRelated.com
Forums

PSD estimation when I have oversampled data

Started by dsavio 5 years ago4 replieslatest reply 5 years ago358 views

Suppose I have samples of a signal(s) + noise process which is sampled 4x what is necessary for my desired spectral resolution. 

My desire is to pick the signals out of the noise, but I have little to know a-priori knowledge of the noise characteristics. If this makes the problem intractable we can assume Gaussian or fractional Gaussian. 

How can I make use of the oversampled data to improve PSD estimation? Obviously I can use the extra samples to get greater frequency resolution, but that is not my desire. 

In typical Welch's method type of approaches, I can divide the data into possibly overlapping windows and average periodograms.  Would it be essentially equivalent to construct 4 downsampled waveforms by taking every 4th sample, starting at sample 0, then 1, 2, and 3, compute periodograms of the 4 separate downsampled waveforms then average them? Would this also reduce the variance of the periodogram estimate similar to Welch's method? 

[ - ]
Reply by fred_harrisJanuary 20, 2019

Hello dsavio,

You did not describe the BW of the noise. You described its density function but not its spectral spread. Is the noise band-limited to the signal bandwidth as it would be at the output of a matched filter? or is it white noise or colored noise with spectral content out to the half sample rate?