DSPRelated.com
Forums

DSP Master's Degree

Started by razed11 3 years ago9 replieslatest reply 3 years ago263 views

Hi Everyone,

I have an undergraduate degree in aerospace engineering (1993) and soon after graduating became involved in a project where I helped write firmware for a student satellite. I've only worked as an embedded systems engineer since that time--many RTOS and embedded Linux projects usually with an FPGA. Now I'm considering taking time off and getting an online Master's degree with an emphasis in DSP.

I'd like to hear about the different applications members of this forum are designing and how they relate to their studies. Are you doing real-time DSP? Opinions on what has changed over the years and what are the new techniques?

Topics that I've read about over the last year or so that have piqued my interest: very long baseline interferometry, synthetic aperture radar, space communications, and adaptive optics.

Thanks.

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeNovember 27, 2020

Also look at Software Defined Radio.  Your FPGA background will be useful for that.  

Focus on the basics of signal processing and you can do anything.  The math behind the Cooley-Tukey algorithm is based on number theory, and that's fundamental to most of DSP.  The math is the key - once that makes sense, all the applications are simple.  If you've got the math so it's not confusing (and it will be while learning it!!) then pick the application you like and start there. It should not matter though - it's all just math!

[ - ]
Reply by razed11November 27, 2020

Thanks. Yes I'm aware of SDR.

The reason I'd like to understand the applications and techniques is so that I can evaluate the curriculum of each program. Also if I can get some preliminary understanding from those of you with experience I can use that to have a more meaningful exchange with an advisor going into the program.

[ - ]
Reply by N0UUNovember 27, 2020