DSPRelated.com
Forums

Communication between ARM and DSP

Started by alvin6 3 years ago9 replieslatest reply 3 years ago990 views

Hi all,

I am a newbie to DSP. Now our company wants to develop a product combine ARM & DSP. At the beginning, we were thinking about to use TI's am57x or keystone series soc. However, after checked the performance benchmark of TI's IPC(inter-processor communication) http://software-dl.ti.com/processor-sdk-rtos/esd/d... . The throughput is low and cpu utilization rate is relatively high. So our director wants to find a communicate method(like pcie or other parallel communication ) which can get high throughput between ARM and DSP(at least 20MB/s, ideally 50MB/s). Any idea about communication between ARM and DSP would be appreciated and helpful. The ARM and DSP no need to be on a soc.  

Thanks.

[ - ]
Reply by jmford94December 15, 2020

The link you shared is for a benchmark copying data through the Linux kernel into userspace.  You will get many times more performance if you are working with the DSP core to the processor core inside or below the Linux kernel.  The am57x series has many high-speed ports and memory subsystems to support fast data transfer, so it really should be able to do whatever it is you want to do, but as Chuck says below you should start with the problem and work towards a solution rather than jamming a solution into the problem.

[ - ]
Reply by jbrowerDecember 15, 2020

Alvin-

Based on this:

https://e2e.ti.com/support/processors/f/791/t/7747...

I'd say you have valid concerns, not to mention time spent debugging.