DSPRelated.com
Forums

Difference between harmonic (vocalized) and non (consonant) sounds

Started by Deimos 3 years ago4 replieslatest reply 3 years ago181 views

Hi guys! I'm a student and right now I'm following the Digital Signal Processing course at the university. I have to do this exercise using Python:

Analysis of vocal traces with the STFT trying to identify the parts of the signal related to harmonic (vocalized) and non (consonant) sounds. In the case of non-harmonic sounds, you can try to estimate the AR model and then filter out some random noise with the same model. Listening should be able to recognize the original sound.

I'm having a hard time figuring out what to do! I don't really know where to start! I was wondering what the difference was between harmonic (vocalized) and non (consonant) sounds. what is an example of these two types? What topics do I need to know to do this exercise? Recommended books / sites for studying? Can anyone explain this exercise to me please?

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeMay 4, 2021

Is that talking about voiced vs voiceless consonants? https://campusweb.howardcc.edu/ehicks/YE618/Master...

Or harmonic vs non-harmonic content?  The question is confusing to me because I don't know anything about speech recognition. 

If it's harmonic vs non-harmonic, you should be able to find the harmonics easily, and if not, then it must be non-harmonic.  If it's voiced vs voiceless, then use those terms for searching - there must be a lot of info on speech recognition now.  The hard part is figuring out what people call the terms.  Once you find the key words, you should be able to figure out the way to answer the question.

[ - ]
Reply by omersayliMay 4, 2021

Hi,

In a speech (lets say a word utterance), simply vowels are vocalized (harmonic) parts, consonants are plosives, fricatives, nasals, liquids, and semivowels. You may check these.

http://research.spa.aalto.fi/publications/theses/l...