DSPRelated.com
Forums

Voice recognition using TMS

Started by andrecr03 7 years ago14 replieslatest reply 7 years ago254 views
Hello,

My name is André, and I'm currently studying Electrical Engineering. I signed up for this forum because I have an important work to do on my holidays for a DSP subject, due to January 25th!

So, here it is: I have a TMS320C5515 DSP board, by Texas Instruments, and I have to make a voice recognition system, using Code Composer Studio v4.1.3, capable of making LEDs on a breadboard to blink in real time. For instance, I say "green" and the green LED lights up (just a flag for future applications).

I'm looking for tutorials, videos, guides, or example algorithms so I can study the methods of detecting, sampling and processing the voice signal, I pretty much don't have a solid idea where to start.

Thank you in advance!
[ - ]
Reply by MichaelRWJanuary 17, 2017

Hello, André:

I would suggest that you approach this project in two steps.

First, write code that will get the DSP board to act "transparently."  This means the DSP board should convert an input analogue signal such as speech into its digital format via the DAC, then pass this digital signal directly to the ADC where you can monitor the analogue output using a speaker.  By doing this you'll know that the board is operating correctly and that the speech is properly converted into its digital representation. Knowing that the speech signal is properly represented in the digital domain will allow you to process it so that you can turn the DSP board LEDs on or off as required.

In most cases, DSP boards such as the one you have will have a bundled set of baseline code.  Using this code will help you get the board working as described above.  The baseline code is critical because it configures the board (i.e. sampling rate and so forth) and puts into a running state.