DSPRelated.com
Forums

High-Speed Applications for Digital Closed-Loop Controllers ?

Started by MixedSignal 7 years ago5 replieslatest reply 7 years ago126 views
I am interested to know what might be the applications for high-speed digital closed-loop controllers, by which I mean sample-rates of 2Msps and higher ?
My own pet application for electrical interface emulation does require complex and flexible controller characteristics with very low latency at 2Msps and up, but I'm assuming such demanding applications are rare ?

[ - ]
Reply by dgshaw6June 22, 2017
I'm not a control expert, but I assume the speed requirements are most likely related to physical world activities.  For many of these, the time constants are relatively long. However, I can see where very small devices - that require feedback systems - would have much shorter time constants, and therefore take faster loops.  My kids gave me one of those very small indoor RC helicopters.  It's response is so fast that I have a really hard time flying it. It could certainly use a stabilization system. Still not nearly requiring 2MHz sampling though. Maybe an application like robotic surgery where the "surgeon" is contained in a capsule.
David
[ - ]
Reply by MixedSignalJune 22, 2017

Hi David, Thanks for those thoughts. As you suggest, anything with a bit of mechanical inertia is likely to need much lower rates. Like anyone, I can get to work with Google, but it's always good to have input from practitioners who know about the more obscure real-world applications. Perhaps there is some application in the ultrasound industry ?

[ - ]

As I have also written on another forum.

After a bit of research (Googling), and questions on Forums, I have concluded :-
a) High-bandwidth, Low-latency controllers of say < 100ns, are out of the mainstream of feedback controller designs.