DSPRelated.com
Forums

Overlap-add in the frequency domain

Started by shadowfaxster 6 years ago1 replylatest reply 6 years ago523 views

Hi, 

I am relatively new to DSP and am trying to implement a frequency domain convolution for multiple channels. I'm trying to use fft convolution, but perform the overlap-add method in the frequency-domain, rather than time-domain. I have implemented this in MATLAB and I cannot seem to get it working correctly, so I just wanted to check that the fundamental idea is actually correct. The idea is to:

-> get input signal with N samples -> fft @  2N -> multiply with an IR (already fft'd at 2N) -> add the previous overlap-add segment to the first N samples of the 2N signal -> save the last N samples of the 2N signals in the overlap-add vector -> ifft the first N samples of the processed 2N signal and output the real part of that. 

I thought this would work because of the linearity properties of the DFT, by which an addition of the overlap-add segment could be done in the time-domain or frequency-domain to the same result, unless I have misunderstood this. However, I haven't been able to find any information explicitly saying that this is possible.

Thank you! 

UPDATE: I've just realised that it may not actually work because I'm trying to handle the frequency-domain signals like time-domain signals (saving parts of them), whereas the FD signals are actually different, I think. So the new question is whether there's a way to perform the overlap-add method in the frequency-domain, so I can add all the different channels in the FD and performa single ifft for the final signal as opposed to multiple iffts for each channel before adding them together. 

[ - ]
Reply by dszaboJuly 22, 2018