DSPRelated.com
Forums

FSK demodulation with Doppler correction

Started by LoganathanN 4 years ago8 replieslatest reply 4 years ago598 views

Hi all,

I hope that you're all fine and doing great. I'm planning to implement a FSK demodulator for my thesis in FPGA. System requirements are given below.

* Modulation on the transmitter is Standard FSK modulator (Not any binary differentially encoded FSK (BDEFSK) transmitter) with modulation index h ranges from 1 to 5. (f_deviation = 0.5*h*data_rate) 

* Data rate as 1400 bps.

* Doppler shift in the receiver shall be +/-15KHz (Maximum Doppler rate shall be +/-500 Hz/S).

* Data will be transmitted as a burst with preamble in the beginning.

I have DSP exposure in EW system, Analog modulation & demodulation (AM, FM & SSB) and detailed knowledge in OFDM system. I'm new to this Digital demodulation. I read few research paper for this implementation. But I haven't got any perfect idea to proceed. 

Problem statement : 

Consider the modulation index (h) is 1 with the data rate of 1400 bps. Hence the f_deviation will be 0.5*1*1400 = 700Hz. Hence +700Hz is the mark frequency and -700Hz is the space frequency in the complex signal. Maximum BW for this will be 2800Hz ((1+h)*data_rate). But we need to open 30KHz BW (Roughly 10 times of signal BW)  in the receiver since the Doppler shift can be +/-15KHz. But I don't want to loose the demodulation sensitivity with this BW increase.