DSPRelated.com
Forums

Adaptive Filter Theory: prequisites to learning

Started by alnesbit 5 years ago7 replieslatest reply 5 years ago388 views

Hello!

I purchaesd Haykin (2014), "Adaptive Filter Theory," 5th ed., largely to learn about echo cancellation and other useful topics for music and audio signal processing (my favorite applications).  I have read some of his other books and was never disappointed.

Even from Chapter 1 I'm in over my head with this one.

Could somebody please recommend the prerequisite knowledge for understanding this topic and the book?

Many years ago I was working in music signal processing.  I would known what the prerequisite knowledge is and where to find it.  But I've been working in a different field for the past five years and I'm now making a big effort to sharpen up my skills.

And one project that I want to work on is to implement high quality open source echo cancellation software.

Thank for any advice!!

Kind regards,

Andrew

[ - ]
Reply by drmikeAugust 2, 2019

Andrew,

I think a good place to start would be Linear Algebra.  The whole first section of that book is "Background", and all the math is based on the concept of how to sum over polynomials.  There are different names for each of the sums, and they have different properties, but the essence of all of them is same.  A z transform is sum over polynomials in time, a discrete Fourier transform is a sum over polynomials in either time or frequency, a filter is a sum over polynomials in one of those, and so on.  Once you are comfortable with summation of either finite or infinite sums, that book should be "straight forward" reading.